Richard Lochhead

Moray SNP News



It has been announced by 10 Downing Street that Moray MP and Westminster SNP leader Angus Robertson MP has been appointed to the Privy Council.

The Privy Council is a formal body of advisers to the Sovereign, whose members are often senior politicians who can be briefed on sensitive issues under ‘Privy Council terms’. The announcement follows confirmation that Angus Robertson MP has become a member of the parliamentary Intelligence and Security Committee.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, former First Minister Alex Salmond and former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament George Reid are amongst present and past SNP politicians who are members of the Privy Council. Angus Robertson is the first SNP MP appointed to the Privy Council for his role at Westminster since Donald Stewart in 1977.

Speaking about announcement posted on the Number 10 website Angus Robertson MP said:

“I am honoured to be appointed to the Privy Council which will enable me to do my job on the Intelligence and Security Council. It is also a recognition that as the third party in the House of Commons the SNP should not be put at a disadvantage when it comes to government information shared on ‘Privy Council terms’.

“With a record number of MPs representing 56 out of 59 Scottish constituencies the SNP has an important role standing up for Scotland’s interests in the House of Commons. It is nearly 40 years since Donald Stewart MP became the last SNP parliamentarian to become a member of the Privy Council because of his role at Westminster.”